The time I made “Cake Soup”.

2 May

I think I was 10, maybe 12, and I decided to make a cake.  It shouldn’t have been too hard.  It was a cake mix.  All I really needed to do was add eggs, water and oil.  The recipe called for 1 cup of water so I added a cup of water.  I put it in the oven, set the timer and went about my business.  When I came back to check on my cake it still hadn’t firmed up.

Oven temperature same as the box- check.  Reset timer-check.  Let’s try this again…..

After some significant time and various attempts to fix the situation, I asked for help.  My cake was just a big pan of soup.  I followed the recipe, it should have worked.  What went wrong?  As I was showing my mom everything my error became obvious.

And that is the day I found out there is a difference between a cup- as in a drinking glass and a measuring cup-the kitchen utensil.

Leave a Reply

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Home Ec Reject

The trials and tribulations of a self-professed Home Ec Reject

Slide Show and Ice Cream

Churning great memories

Short-Winded Blog

by Laura Garwood

The Adventures of Pop-Up Adventure Play

The trials and tribulations of a self-professed Home Ec Reject

furlinedteacup

The trials and tribulations of a self-professed Home Ec Reject

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Almost Never Clever

For the love of paper, scrapbooks & travel

